Loss

Chittammoomma, my grandmother’s younger sister, passed away today. It is strange – my mother casually mentioned it and a wave of sadness passed through me. She was the last of the siblings in the family.

It is amazing how memories flash past your eye when you hear about a death. Her son’s marriage, her daughter’s marriage – all our visits for several dinners whenever we went to the city for our vacation or when we were living there, the way to her house…. so many many memories. Her teasing my grandmother, her support for my father, her long conversations with my grandmother. The way they used to get their dogs out of the way before opening the gate for us to enter, the verandah as soon as you enter… the small service window…

I missed those times and suddenly I miss my grandmother too.  It is a sad day for my father too I guess. It is one of the side of the family that has grown apart. I think I will miss going to their place when I am in Trivandrum next.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Agnes says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. My heartfelt condolences.

  2. Nancy says:

    I’m so sorry, please accept my condolences.
    I know wht u mean, we may not have met them in recent times but when we hear the sad news sorrow overwhelms us almost surprising us with its depth. Like they say in malayalam ‘angane oru thalamura-ude poyi’

Leave a Reply

